Skip to content
July 6, 2014 / henrybeun

Two important ladies I love

20140706-153443-56083078.jpg

Tante Geertje

race photo

Julie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“She reminds me of you and who you will be in 25 years!” It was the best way I could describe Tante Geertje to Julie as I wrote my daily email describing my experiences during my 10 day trip to Holland.

A few thoughts about two important ladies in my life.

I first met Tante Geertje about 20 years ago when she and Oom Wim visited our family in the US. After several days with her this past week in her home in Sas van Gent she’s the aunt I wished I would have had all these years. Gifted with generous hospitality, a sincere smile, a gentle patience, a love of preparing and serving food, an attentive listening ear, a love of being with people / family, an attention to details and giving thoughtful responses, Tante Geertje is now a special person in my life.

Knowing that I don’t speak Dutch, she diligently figured out what I was saying in English even though her English is limited.

Knowing I needed a bike for several hours of experiencing the biking culture of the Dutch she took care of the details and biked with me the first kilometer to be sure I knew where I was going.

Knowing I had a two and half hour drive to Haarlem she insisted I pack a bread and cheese sandwich and a rozijn bollen (incredibly tasty raisin roll).

When I returned at 4:30 Friday afternoon she quickly prepared coffee and knowing how I had enjoyed the rhubarb cake several days earlier pulled out the piece she had saved for me out of the refrigerator.

Knowing we had to be on the road at 5:30am she was up at 4:00 to prepare a wonderful Dutch breakfast spread of bread, cheese, pastries, coffee, yogurt and fruit even though I had insisted the evening before that we’d be happy with a cup of coffee!

Did I mention she is a caring person? Did I mention I really like this lady? Did I mention I wish I could bike a few kilometers to visit her regularly? Did I mention I’m in love with this lady?

I first met Julie 40 years ago! July 10 we celebrate our first date: leading walk-a-mile during Jr High Week at Camp Luz. Yes, we held hands on our first date!

Julie has become my best friend, companion for life, wife, cheerleader and is the voice of reason and practicality that balances my contemplative, scattered and imaginative mind. Her joy is quietly and gently caring and serving others. In 25 years she will be like Tante Geertje! Wait…she already is!

Julie and Tante Geertje: two very important ladies in my life; I love you both! I thank God for both of you. I’m a better man because of both of you.

 

 

 

Leave a comment