Skip to content
July 1, 2014 / henrybeun

“Tante Jo”

The sound of it still “sings” in my heart, mind and memories!

“Tante Jo!” That would be “Yo” if you want to say it correctly.

My cousins spoke my Imagemother’s name with a title of love and respect. The Dutch seem to speak with more emotion as they enunciate words, to me it seems there is a dynamic dimension in their speech. Regardless, it has been a unique experience to hear my cousins call mother tante (aunt).

Titles define roles in life. Titles set boundaries. Titles honor. Titles are respectful.

Titles call one into the roles of life given to us by default and assigned to us as consequences of the choices we make. Titles remind us of who we are.

“Tante Jo!” A sweet sound which will linger on and on.

Photo: Cousin Hendrika with Tante Jo.

Leave a comment