Skip to content
December 30, 2014 / henrybeun

It happened

Mother and I stood in line very pleased to have early boarding numbers (A30 & A31) on our Southwest Airlines flight. Others joined us anxiously waiting for instructions to board in an efficient systematic way. Then “it” happened!

A tall, strong looking, young man wandered into the line looking lost and confused. We shot glances at him while hoping no one would catch us staring. Quickly we realized he was visually impaired and seemed to have mental challenges. No words came from his lips, simply low grunts and guttural sounds. No one would have called his appearance handsome.

A young, beautiful, young woman approached him. She seemed somewhat exasperated, yet we would soon observe had incredible kindness, patience, tenderness and gentleness. I don’t know whether she was his caretaker, sister, family, friend, girlfriend, etc. It doesn’t matter. Through her I saw Jesus, the manifestation of God’s love, and a miracle.

She approached him and gently put her arm around him to direct him toward the tunneled ramp to our waiting plane. He stiffened aggressively pushing her away. She eased toward him again putting her arm around his neck so she could reach his face. With grace she whispered into his ear and slowly his demeanor calmed. It was incredibly intimate and one could sense a beautiful mix of pity, amazement and silent cheering her on by those of us watching but not staring.

She repeatedly coaxed him toward the tunnel, even getting him to enter several times. But, each time he would push back attempting to walk away from their destination. I wanted to help, and, I assume I was not alone. Certainly four of us could pick him up and forcefully carry him to the plane I mused. However, those watching were profoundly unified, maybe even a wee bit paralyzed, in silence. However, we also were unified In patience (a miracle in itself).

She considered giving up and waiting for a later flight; however, when she learned the next flight was six hours later a new resolve seemingly emerged in her spirit and on her determined stoic face. Again, I wanted to help. Then, it occurred to me … I can help.

Quietly, in my spirit and mind, I began praying with the same gentleness I was observing in the young woman. I assume I was not alone. I prayed for enough decrease in his fear that he could trust her and move forward on the ramp and onto the plane. I prayed for her resolve and ability to serve this young man. Several more attempts and he disappeared into the tunnel. I deafening standing ovation occurred – ok, only in my mind!

The incredibly patient Southwest gate attendant announced she was ready to board the rest of us. There were no sounds of relief, exasperation or complaining by those gathered and waiting. She glanced down the tunnel several more times and then motioned us to enter the tunnel to board the plane. She smiled and demonstrated gentleness as well as professionalism. I wish I would have told her, “Well done” as I gave her our boarding pass.

We passed the couple as they haltingly were moving toward the plane. She motioned us past, I muttered, “praying for you.” She didn’t respond and I was good with that response.

Front row seats were saved for the couple and eventually they did indeed get on the plane and sit down. No one applauded, but we all should have! Seated between my 83 year old mother and a young mother with a 6 month old on her lap I said to no one in particular, “they made it, awesome!”

Our flight was uneventful, that’s always a good thing. After our arrival at our destination my eye caught the beautiful young woman and now seemingly handsome young man at the baggage claim area. “You are amazing and a blessing,” I said to her. She smiled, with her hand on his arm, “thank you.”

Once again, I’ve seen the “hand” of God in the mystical and miraculous way the young man trusted his companion.

And, I’ve seen the Kingdom in action as this young woman served this young man.

And, I’ve seen dutiful employees of Southwest Airlines serve with dignity those who often appear to many as undignified.

And, I’ve seen the beauty of the human spirit as many other travelers demonstrated patience, love and kindness as we observed the miracle which played out before our eyes.

And, I’m simply claiming I was a quiet, willing and yet, hesitant, participant as I prayed and waited.

To God be the glory!

Leave a comment