Skip to content
December 22, 2014 / henrybeun

Advent 4: Joy … comes

What brings God joy?

What brings you joy?

I was watching a video clip with my students about the miracles of Jesus by Philip Yancey when I caught a glimpse of joy. Yulee watched intently as the reenactment of Jesus healing the blind man played out before us on the screen. As Jesus hands touched the man her gaze became even more intense. “I can see, I can see!” the man shouted as he gestured with his hands raised. Yulee gasped, her hands quickly covered her mouth in amazement. She turned to the nearest classmate tapping her on the forearm with one hand while the other pointed to the screen. Speechless, yet she demonstrated the joy of God’s power and love in the story of Jesus. Yulee is a first year student from China; God, Jesus, the Bible, theology, Christian worldview – these are all new to her. I’m grateful I caught her spontaneous joy in that moment. She showed me the joy which came and comes with miracles.

The seniors gathered around classmate Brenda for a prayer and farewell blessing. It’s been a tough semester for her; health struggles had caused her to miss many days. As a first year student from Columbia she wanted the experiences of high school in an American school where she could take Bible classes and be encouraged in her faith. But, it wasn’t working out. With tears she explained to the class the family decision for her to return home, “today is my final day at Central.” She wanted to be with her mom and dad to resolve her health issues. With their hands on her the class prayed, Makenna and Stacey led out with spoken prayers. Words of love, hope, healing and blessing for Brenda poured from their hearts. It was a moment of serene moment of joy. For a moment time seemed to stop. For me, God’s presence was so palatable as I listened, stood with the class and was embraced by the moment. To hear teens pray to God for a friend who is hurting, that’s joy!

Unexpected joy!

Have you seen it recently?

Has joy possessed you?

Coming to and being with humanity is God’s joy!

Leave a comment