Skip to content
August 22, 2014 / henrybeun

“Sawa, sawa”

As I struggled with the simple skills and tasks on the construction site the co-workers would encourage me with a simple phrase, “sawa, sawa” (it’s OK). I wanted to tie together the metal rebar pieces as efficiently and tight as my co-workers. They noticed my struggles, kindly smiled and said, “sawa, sawa.” I couldn’t match their stamina and strength as we labored and would quickly slow down, need a break or walk away from the task, they smiled and said, “sawa sawa.” 

It was lunch time and I noticed some didn’t have a lunch to eat. Instead they used the lunch hour to nap or sit together talking and laughing. I learned that they had had a “big breakfast” of porridge and tea, “sawa, sawa.” I shook my head sideways to express some sense of awareness of their hardships, “sawa, sawa.” When I encountered several who were not selected to work for the day and expressed a sense of disappointment for them, “sawa, sawa.” Near the end of the long day when the only power tool on the site broke down, “sawa, sawa.”

Sometimes during conversations with our hosts and pastors about the hardships and what we perceived as injustices the response included, “sawa, sawa.” While riding in a car from place to place and commenting on what I observed as the chaotic habits of some Kenyan drivers, “sawa, sawa,” I’ve always considered being on time to be an act of courtesy and respect, so when we arrived at a time later than what I perceived to be on time, “sawa, sawa.” 

“Sawa, sawa” became one of the few Swahili words that I eventually used during my brief time in Kenya. Several times I reflected with them that this may the one Swahili word I will use in the classroom with students when they are stressed, anxious or disappointed. Several weeks later it is the one Swahili word that’s still on my mind and that I’ve muttered to myself on several occasions. I smile and wonder, am I a Kenyan?!? I wonder if “sawa, sawa” is deeply ingrained in Kenyan culture and thinking; I readily admit I wasn’t in Kenya long enough to accurately claim this as a fact.

However, for the sake of this post, let’s assume for a few moments that “sawa, sawa” reflects a deeply ingrained mindset of Kenyans. I deeply respect their worldview of valuing relationships over the pressures of productivity in the western world; quite frankly I thoroughly enjoyed their slower pace of life which seems intentional at valuing people by making time for them. Greeting people and asking people about their day, night and family seemed to be the norm. Conversations were never rushed with a business only mentality. There never seemed to be an urgency to get to the point of a conversation. There was a willingness to linger with each other even after the “reason” for having a conversation was completed. I was told that the difference between “us” and “them” is our view of time: time is money vs. time is relationships. I hope my brief time in Kenya has moved me more towards relationships.

“Sawa, sawa” also reminded me of Paul’s comments about “being content.” (See Philippians 4:11-14.) Each day I have the choice of whether my successes (“well fed, plenty”) or needs (“hunger, in want”) will be the focal point of my existence. “Sawa, sawa” may be the attitude of a genuine life-giving contentment, “I can do all this through Him who give me strength.” The phrase is an appeal to trust the Almighty God, it is an appeal to patiently trust that He is the One who provides.

“Sawa, sawa” is an invitation and statement of faith that the focal point of our existence is our relational existence and experiences with (and in) the Almighty Heavenly Father as revealed in or Lord and Savior Jesus Christ the Ever Present Holy Spirit.

“Sawa, sawa” is the word I’ve heard from God while I was in Kenya … it’s gonna be OK!

“Sawa, sawa” is the word I’ve heard from God this morning as I sip my coffee and ease into the day … and that I now share with you! “Sawa, sawa, it’s OK.”

Leave a comment