Skip to content
August 10, 2014 / henrybeun

the answer

Why have I come? My previous post was a confession of brokenness AND naming the reality of God’s presence in prayer and in Scripture.This post is a reflection on what I perceive and claim as “the answer”. I realize and confess that my “need” for an answer may be a direct reflection on my western world mindset which values productivity, setting & attaining measurable goals, validation and worth based on achievement.

The “answer” to my question emerged as I engaged in the opportunities of learning, observing and serving. The “answer” emerged and became evident in direct proportion to my willingness to trust the Kenyans who hosted, drove, interpreted, worked with, advised and/or prayed with me. John and Velma Zook, Bishop Daniel, Pastor Daniel, Elder Daniel, Pastor Cephas, Pastor Paul, Pastor Peter, Pastor Doug, Mercy, Angela, Martin, Phoebe, Benson, James, Justus, Leah, Samuel, Stephen, Lazarus and many more were the strangers who became the lens through which my need (and demand) for an  “answer” emerged.

I did go as a team member of Bega kwa Bega. As a participant I “worked” alongside laborers to help in the construction of a school building dedicated to pastoral and theological training. Our primary work while I was there was preparing for and pouring the concrete floor for the ground level of the building. I gained an admiration for how hard the men and women worked in a context of very limited technology, there were no power tools! Everything was labor intensive. The men and women were the power tools! I take some satisfaction in the sweat equity I invested; however, the greater joy became learning of day to day life for the laborers and their dreams for a better Kenya for their children and grandchildren. They became the teachers for the “big mzungu” (big white man) as they taught me the how-to’s of construction and their incredible work ethic. Two weeks later I can still see and hear their joy of having a job for the day. Their beautiful smiles enabled me to see past their need for dental intervention. Their bright eyes, laughter and honesty captivated me. We became friends and it was difficult to say good-bye to them on my final day with them. The Central Christian School pens which they enthusiastically and graciously accepted as my gift to them seemed so inadequate for what they had given me by welcoming me as a laborer with them.

I went anticipating the invitation to preach and teach in several churches. Prior to going I prayerfully paged through my files of sermons discerning which ones to edit, rewrite and pack. I was introduced as “Pastor Henry” and quickly learned that people come in great anticipation of the preached word of God. Truthfully I’m more of a teacher than a preacher, not nearly as dynamic as what they are accustomed to. I was humbled at their attentiveness. Never before have I had so many people writing notes as I spoke. The rhythmic pattern of speaking with the aid of interpreters was energizing and comfortable. And, the follow-up comments by the church’s pastor seeking to make my sermon theme applicable to his people were reassuring of the power and intervention of the Holy Spirit. Each time I spoke I felt so very inadequate and questioned why I had come. Words inadequately describe my experiences of God providing courage, words and a spirit of love as I spoke. The final tally of preaching: 5 X’s (Sunday morning, Tuesday morning, Wednesday evening, Friday evening and Sunday morning) in four churches; each in a unique setting ranging from very rural to inner city. I came to observe, participate and experience the Christian church and movement in Kenya.

So the dualism of preaching and helping with the building project were the stated reasons for coming to and being in Kenya for a short ten days. However, I learned of an even greater yet mysterious reason I had come. I heard it several times from a variety of people. I heard it from laborers, hosts, drivers and pastors. The “answer” was always unsolicited. God knew that even while I was busy in Kenya I was continually searching for an “answer” for why I had said “yes” to Pastor Doug’s invitation to come to Kenya.

Surprise! One of the final things I heard from Martin, one of our drivers, and Pastor Daniel on the 45 minute drive to the Nairobi airport for my return flight home echoed the “answer” I had heard from several others,

“Henry, thank you for coming to Kenya. Because you came we believe God can do great things for us in Kenya (and in Africa) and through our churches. We know what you’ve been told about our country and about us; you been told it is unsafe to come. You’ve been advised to stay home in America. But you came because you trusted God. You believed He would protect and provide for you. Because you’ve come trusting God we have hope in God, we believe God will do great things!”

Admittedly the previous paragraph is a paraphrase of what I’ve heard. I have attempted to capture the essence and spirit of what I heard. It is “the answer” I choose to embrace for why I had come to Juja, Kenya.

PS: I’m certain that others have heard a similar blessing … and so, glory be to the Almighty God!

Leave a comment